Damper Bug

Picked up a CSL DD 8NM in October of 2023. Loved it, big step up from the Thrustmaster TX I had been using for 10 years prior. However, I noticed a strange occurrence within a month or so after using it…and the story goes like this:

The only game I play is ACC.

After some time of driving, I noticed the wheel would go ‘soft’…felt like it was missing something after about 10-15 mins of play…not night and day different, but just - different. Road textures would fade, curbs felt less pronounced - holding torque decreased, just a general reduction in fidelity, and it was actually severely impacting my lap times…I would lose a full second at the end of a stint…and couldn’t drive the car with confidence as the turn resistance and feel was still kind of there, but also very much absent from how it was at the beginning of the race. No, it was not set up, or overheating tires or bad tire temps. My car is configured correctly and I run pretty decent lap times (not alien pace, but about 2 seconds off from it on most tracks). I was convinced it was the base derating over time. For context - I ran very moderate settings on the base, I don’t like heavy FFB. Average temps on the base were around 30-35C (normal). It drove me absolutely nuts…so I trouble shot everything - cables, power supply, internet connection, grounding my rig…even bought two 120MM fan holders from Etsy that attach to the sides of the base to keep it extra cool (temps never got above 25C using them).

Problem of progressive FFB fade still existed though. I even opened an RMA ticket, but never acted on it. I thought for sure it was tied to Firmware - so decided to hold on. Driver 454, 455, 456 - same issue…totally bummed and at a loss. Posted here on the forum, Reddit, no one could provide any insight other than telling me to check what I already had.

I even switched from playing on Xbox, to PC to see if that would help. It was better (much), but the problem was still there. I was dumbfounded.